A3296 Dr Ivan Raymond MAY Papers   
 Copyright 2010, Historical Papers, The Library, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa   
 Items donated by Dr Ivan Raymond May to theFaculty of Health Sciences at the University of the Witwatersrand, on the occasion of the 'Ethics Alive Week 2010'.   
 Archivist note(s)   
 July 2010 Item 1 digitised (G. Mohale)   
 Biographical notes   
 Dr Ivan Raymond May is an Alumni of the University of the Witwatersrand, where he obtained his BSc Honours in 1969, Master of Science in 1970, Doctor of Philosophy in 1974 and Master of Business administration in 1976.   
 A former Research Fellow at the Wageningen University Netherlands and Research Assistant and Lecturer at the University of the Witwatersrand,he laterserved in leading positions and on the Boards of several organisations and companies, including Greatermans Department Stores, Ogilvy & Mather Worldwide and Nedcor Ltd. (from where he retired in 2003).   
 Dr May is actively involved in organisations focussing on charity, business and social issues in South Africa, such as Charities Aid Foundation, Business and Arts South Africa, the Order of St John in South Africa, the Market Theatre Foundation and the Salvation Army.   
 He has received numerous and prestigious awards in acknowledgement of hiswork in various fields, like the Endangered Wildlife Trust Cheetah Award, the WWF Gold Medal as well as awards by the Marketing Federation and the Association of Marketers of South Africa.As a World Fellow of the Duke of Edinburgh Award, he received a Knighthood of Justice of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem from her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.   
 Dr Mayis the President of Convocation of the University of the Witwatersrand, and he is an elected member of Council and Senate.   
 Items in the collection   
South African Bill of Rights presentation poster,with the original signatures ofNelson Mandela, FW De Klerk, Roelf Meyer, Cyril Ramaphosa and Arthur Chaskalson.  1996 
 Stored as folio item anddigital scan on CD.   
Published copy of the South African Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996,with the original signatures of Nelson Mandela, FW De Klerk, Roelf Meyer, Cyril Ramaphosa and Arthur Chaskalson.   
Copy of the speech by FW De Klerk given to Parliament on the 2nd February 1990,in which he announced the unbanning of the ANC and the release of Nelson Mandela and other political prisoners,with the original signature ofFW De Klerk, entitled"Address by the State President, Mr FW De Klerk, DMS, at the opening of the Second Session of the Nith parliament of the Republic of South Africa, Cape Town, on 2 February 1990."   
A piece of limestone from the quarry on Robben Island. It was picked up and handed to Dr May by Nelson Mandela when they both visited the Island.   
Posterof the Magna Carta given to DrMay by the City of London